Vissla MEO Pro Ericeira has a waiting period that runs from the 2nd to the 10th of October.

This Monday, the list of entries for the Vissla MEO Pro Ericeira, a test of the new Challenger Series that helps to select qualified surfers for the 2022 world circuit, was released. Among the dozens of elite surfers that will compete in the Portuguese competition , highlighting the presence of Italo Ferreira, world champion in 2019, and also Frederico Morais, who thus increases the number of Portuguese surfers in the competition to five.

With 14 surfers enrolled from the male world elite and four more from the female, Ericeira should receive a total of 18 world tops in its waves. But if in the case of the men’s race there are six names that compete without goals, since they are already qualified for next year, in the women’s case all four surfers are dependent on these races to try to guarantee qualification.

Italo Ferreira, Kanoa Igarashi, Frederico Morais, Leo Fioravanti, Deivid Silva and Jadson Andre are the “intruders” who come to brighten up the Ribeira d’Ilhas race. They are also joined by the South African Matthew McGillivray, the Brazilians Caio Ibelli, Peterson Crisanto and Alex Ribeiro, the Australians Owen Wright, Wade Carmichael and Connor O’Leary and the Frenchman Michel Bourez. On the female side, the entries are Australian Keely Andrew, Nikki van Dijk and Macy Callaghan and Costa Rican Brisa Hennessy.

The presence of Owen Wright in the entry list is also a novelty, since the Olympic bronze medalist did not enter the Huntington Beach stage, which started today in California, being the first of four stages of the Challenger Series. After being the big name not getting requalification via CT, not going to the US Open of Surfing could raise doubts about a possible withdrawal, but coming to Ericeira clears those doubts. Not least because the absence in the opening race does not affect the accounts, since each surfer can count on one discard in the final ranking.

The rest of the squad is identical to the one that managed to enter Huntington Beah, with Portugal still being represented by Vasco Ribeiro, Teresa Bonvalot, Yolanda Hopkins and Carolina Mendes. Yolanda and Carol once again receive a replacement invitation, as happened for the North American race that is already underway. In Ericeira, the entry of Camilla Kemp, national champion of 2018, who now competes for Germany, is also highlighted.

In both the men’s and women’s competitions there is still a wildcard to be attributed by the organization, which can also smile on Portuguese surfers. For now, it is only known that the WSL wildcard for the men’s event was attributed to the North American Corsby-Colapinto, as it also happened in the US Open.

However, the list of entries for the Quiksilver Pro France, which follows the Portuguese stage, is also known, and the names are practically the same in the men’s competition – in the women’s competition the list has not yet been released. The few changes are faced with the fact that there is one less world top in the competition. In relation to Ericeira, Italo Ferreira and Deivid Silva are coming out and Yago Dora comes on.

Vissla MEO Pro Ericeira has a waiting period that runs from the 2nd to the 10th of October. Days later, from the 16th to the 24th of the same month, the fight for qualification moves to the southwest of France. The final stage of these new Challenger Series takes place between November and December in Haleiwa, Hawaii, where the 12 male and 6 female surfers will be defined – or re-qualified – for the CT 2022.

Scroll to top